Stopping to Smell the Roses

I can be impatient on our walks. Silas likes to walk quite fast, until suddenly he’s at a dead stop smelling the bushes. Since I stop walking when he pulls on his leash, our walks can get into a really frustrating pattern of fast-stop-fast-stop-fast-stop, with every other stop being him stopping to smell something. I get a little edgy that he’s in such a hurry that he can’t even pay attention, until he decides to not go at all.

He’s been walking so much better lately that I haven’t minded the stopping. I’ve never had much problem with the it per se, just the herky-jerky way it made our walks go. So with much less pulling and much less training against the pulling, I’m happy to let him sniff. Instead of getting impatient, I’ve been taking the chance to do a little looking around myself.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I think it’s good for us. (Bonus points for anyone who can ID that white one.)

5 thoughts on “Stopping to Smell the Roses

    1. I read someone doing that in a book once. I am not so brave. Once I realized kind of belatedly that he was sniffing a dead pigeon. It’s just a pretty time of year to look around here.

      Like

  1. Bonus points? I can’t even name one! I’ll let you in a command I’ve been working with for my guys. It is called 1-2-3. It gives them the opportunity to sniff, then I say 1-2-3 let’s go and we’re off again. It works very well for us. And of course has given my a thought for a new post. πŸ™‚

    You always inspire me. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Aww, thanks! The only one I knew beforehand was the pink one. The other two I can figure out. The white one is foiling me.

      I read somewhere that sniffing can be a good anxiety-diffuser for dogs, so I just let him do it. If he gets really, really caught up in it, or if I can tell he’s sniffing of poop or something, I’ll say “Let’s Go!” and he *usually* comes on along.

      Like

Leave a Reply

