N+1

My husband has a joke about how many bicycles he needs: n+1. If it’s been a while since you took algebra, “n” is a stand in for “number.” It’s the geeky math way of saying “one more than I have right now.”

Silas’s N+1 equation is blankets.

When Silas wants to snuggle, he brings a blanket with him. He doesn’t care if you already have one. I’m sitting in my chair right now with two fleece throws and a dog bed. In five minutes, when he decides to get off the couch and come sit with me, chances are that he will bring the fleece throw off the sofa.

Blanket love

You can really watch his little head spin when he realizes that the snuggle place is already full. One day, he tried to bring his crate mat up in my lap. Except he’d already brought three blankets and two fleece dog beds, and he just couldn’t figure out how to get in the chair with one more. He finally sat down and cried until I rearranged all the blankets.

I’ve finally gotten smart and started sneaking the extras back off the chair whenever he gets up.

The thing I can’t figure out is how to cut down on the number of blankets in the house. The house just seems to absorb however many things I bring in, and Silas has a place in his heart for all of them.

5 thoughts on “N+1

  1. Aww! That’s cute.
    Our house is the opposite, where the dogs prefer the cool tile floor, and act like you’re torturing them if you invite them up on the couch and keep them there for more than 2 minutes. They start to fidget and pant loudly right in your face and just make it explicitly clear how uncomfortable and warm it is.

    Also, I am going to use n+1 to justify a lot of things now, so thank you for that.

    Like

  2. That is too stinking cute – I want to see a video of that! Silas is just so unique in so many ways – and this little quirk of his just makes me smile and go “aaaawwwww!”. He is the perfect dog for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

