Product Review: The Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

Last weekend my husband and I cleaned out our closet. There were the usual suspects–pants that didn’t fit right, shirts that turned out to not be flattering after they’d been washed, and other perfectly nice things that needed a new home. Those are in a stack to send to local charities. Then there were clothes that even the thrift store wouldn’t want. Shirts with conspicuous darns or stains, hideous polo shirts with corporate logos, blue jeans with busted seams, and stretchy synthetic fabrics that no longer stretched.

So, what do you do with that stuff? I already have more household rags than I will ever use up, thanks to the demise of two pairs of flannel sheets in the last few years. I didn’t want to put these things in the trash–when you combine industrial and personal use, it’s estimated that we put an average of 68 pounds of textiles in the trash every year, per household. (Source here.)

Then I remembered Molly Mutt, a company I found while I was writing my Force-Free Shopping campaign.  Molly Mutt makes what they call dog duvets. That is, they make the outside parts of dog beds, and you put whatever you want in the middle. Silas needs a bed for upstairs by my desk, but I’ve been putting off buying one. Dog beds are expensive, and filled with who knows what.

Not anymore!

Our package from Molly Mutt got here today, and I ran right upstairs to put it together. While I was waiting on the package, I snipped away the buttons and zippers from all the old clothes, so that there wouldn’t be anything poking anywhere.

Silas knew right away that this thing was his.

Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

Then he thought that me trying to put things in the bag was the most hilarious game ever:

Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

So I had to relocate to the bathroom and shut the door.

With my stack of clothes in there was still a good bit of room,

Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

so I also added some of Silas’s surplus of fleece blankets. Now that it’s summer, we can get by with just one or two downstairs.

Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

For the top layer I put in the crate pad that came with our soft-sided crate. It has a fleecy top, a water-resistant bottom, and a huge hole that’s kept it on the mending pile for a year.

Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

To be totally honest, Silas is dangerously fascinated by the dog-bed-full-of-people-things. Or, he’s after that crate mat, which he was so obsessed with that he put a huge hole in it in less than a week. Might be something to think about. This duvet is really well put together (I’m especially thankful for the thorough zipper cover), but nothing is going to stand up to a digging terrier for long. I may have to make the filling slightly less attractive if a little training doesn’t tone it down.

Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

He did finally decide to take a little rest, though:

Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

I think that face says “It was a lot more fun to try to dig through this and get to the filling.”

Our duvet is the Romeo and Juliet pattern, in size Small. It’s too little for 30 pound Silas to really sprawl out, but that was deliberate. I don’t have room for a huge bed in the space, and he’s usually happy to curl up.

 

Fine print: I bought this my own self, although Molly Mutt did send me a super cute little leash pouch after I mentioned them on Twitter.

9 thoughts on “Product Review: The Molly Mutt Dog Duvet

  1. One of Elli’s favorite games is the bitey-blanket game. 🙂 It pretty much sucks that I can’t take a blanket into an obedience ring, huh? haha.

    Really cute duvet. Enjoy!

    Like

  2. Ruby and Lydia have already teamed up to chew two holes in the brand newest dog bed. I love the idea of Molly Mutt but I hate to spend a lot on something for it to get destroyed. I’ve been sewing up Ruby’s bolster bed as she wrecks it with some success.

    Like

    1. I love that last picture. “Are you happy now?”
      You know, I just went to their website and they’re not as much as I thought…Ruby is already obsessed with laundry though (clean included) so I wonder…

      Like

      1. They’re not bad, especially for the small sizes. Cheaper than any “real” dog bed I’ve seen that’s a similar size. The *nice* thing about these is that because you do all the stuffing, they’d be pretty easy to take apart and repair. But I’d still wait until things settle down a bit at your house, if I were you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

