Things I Love

Silas knows to walk slowly down hill, so that he doesn’t pull me off balance.

He knows it’s okay to pull me back up the hill. I wouldn’t have made that last one on Tuesday, with the slippery sand, without you little buddy.

Silas is smart. He’s gone from having no idea he even had back feet to being able to go 360 degrees around his perch in four or five short training sessions. And that’s one example out of a hundred.

He doesn’t drool. I know you people with drooly dogs learn find it charming, but no.

He worries a lot about my welfare. It would be nice if he didn’t feel like he had to physically split me away from every person in the world, but his heart is in the right place.

Silas forgives people, even after they terrify him.

When Silas does something, he does it 100%.

He thinks upstairs is exclusively for playing, so he runs up before me to play bow at the top of the stairs. He does it every time, just in case I want to play a little game of get your feet at the top.

When I get up in the morning, he curls up on my pillow until I get ready to go downstairs.

Ears. Enough said.

Sleeping

What are you loving about your dogs today?

12 thoughts on “Things I Love

  1. lol @ the drool! Obviously, we deal with drool. Not so much with Alma, but definitely with Moses. I figure it’s a trade-off. I’d rather deal with that than excessive shedding!

    I like how Alma does everything with gusto. And I like how Moses knows when you come into the room and stays laying down completely still, except for his tail which is wagging like mad and hittin the floor. And I like how happy they both are when it’s time for a walk.

    Like

      1. Well, it’s misleading of me to say they don’t. They definitely do. But the shedding is mostly seasonal – fall and spring. And even then, it just gathers in dust bunnies on the floor and doesn’t stick to clothes or furniture. Because that would drive me bananas. I’d rather wipe drool off the walls 🙂

        Like

  2. Oh my, there are so many things I love about my dogs. That is why I do my Sunday posts, so I can focus on those good things.

    He is a cutie, that’s for sure!

    Like

  3. Great post! We should all make this list more often (especially those of us with anxious dogs). Today, I’m loving how EXCITED Pyrrha gets when I pull out an old toy that’s been hiding in the closet for a few weeks. She acts like she’s never seen it before and that it’s the best Christmas ever.

    Like

    1. I know–it’s so easy to get caught up with the “can’t” list. The truth is, Silas and Pyrrha are both wonderful dogs, and we should brag about them more. 🙂

      Like

  4. Ah Silas – so much to love! What do I love about mine? Everything!! : ) The cold wet noses on my neck in the middle of the night, the way they want to be lap dogs even though they exceed the 20lb limit, their silly antics….I could go on and on!

    Like

  5. I’ve got a similar love for ears 🙂
    It’s always nice to remind ourselves about all the great qualities our challenging dogs possess.
    I just discovered your blog and am looking forward to catching up and following along.

    Like

Leave a comment