Lull

The pace of life around here has dropped to “glacial.” Silas and I both seem to be hibernating. I haven’t take Silas to the park since before I got the flu, which was before Christmas. (He did get lots of exercise over our Christmas vacation.) We haven’t done any focused training in ages. I restarted the relaxation protocol, after finishing the first repetition in early December, but then let it slide.

I’m not complaining or being down on myself–it’s a part of the cycle, and, like all the other parts, it has value. We need to rest, physically and mentally, before we can tackle the next challenge.

I am starting to get that little nagging voice in the back of my mind. It’s reminding me that you can only stand still for so long with an anxious dog before you start to lose progress. Little voice says vacation was nice, but it’s time to move on.

When we do, I’ll be back here in full force.

As for me, I’ve been spending this little break discovering how awesome my public library is, which has inspired a post coming up soon.

How about you? Are you in a post-holiday lull still? Are you hibernating? Or are you energized by the cold weather and New Years resolutions?

6 thoughts on “Lull

  1. A lull actually sounds kind of nice now, ha! After moving to a new house and getting a new puppy, I would love to hibernate more. But this “polar vortex” is forcing us to do some of that, too. Edie has no respect for the polar vortex, however; it does not bother her in the slightest…

    Like

  2. I’m in that mode where I feel like a need a vacation from my vacation. Christmastime was super busy, then a family trip down south and now work is nuts plus we’re planning to remodel the kitchen. All good things but some down time would be appreciated:/

    Like

  3. My dogs and I have determined that we were bears in former lives and make no apologies for a slowdown at this time of the year until the days start getting longer. Hopefully we will all recharge as the seasons change.

    Like

  4. We are definitely in a lull. We’ve all been so drained of energy lately, but I’m hoping the weather clears up this weekend so we can get outside and recharge. I hope you’re feeling better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

